Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Pc build?

  1. #1
    Spamming the boards! Ripjaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Replies
    189
    Country
    United Kingdom

    Pc build?

    Hey guys, now i know i been spamming the f**k outta tb atm lol got lots to say at present i guess xD

    So my next random topic is pc building, i will have around £1200-1400 to spend on a new pc and i've picked everything apart from cpu and mobo as i dont know whats best?

    I plan on useing mainly as a studio pc but would like to play the odd game on it too.

    I have narrowed it down too two but idk whats best hence coming to ask the more clever than me xD

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=6&subcat=1942 New out AMD CPU
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=1903&subcat= AMD Mobo

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=6&subcat=1859 Intel cpu

    And i got nothing for mobo yet coz im mega confused, idk wtf z68 p67 h67 and so on means :S cant figure out what mobo go's with the cpu.

    Cheers guys

  2. #2
    See me, I'm great! carnage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Replies
    47
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Xfire
    enigmatictrauma
    Steam
    JosipTito
    Clan
    none
    As usual AMD stuff tends to cost less, but if single-core performance is what you really care about, I'd say the i7 is the best choice you can do.

    But, if you're going to use it primarly as a studio PC, then the eight-core(!?!?#@) AMD Bulldozer is more than enough for your needs and you'll supposedly be able to run any game at max graphics quality with absolutely no problems, given that the rest of the components are similar in performance. And you seem to have a clearer idea regarding the motherboard (I feel the same way about intel mobos, btw), so I'd say go for the AMD CPU+mobo.
    Last edited by carnage; 1-11-2011 at 00:16.

  3. #3
    Spamming the boards! Ripjaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Replies
    189
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Thx for your reply xD i was kinda leaning to AMD but thought its must'nt be as good as its cheaper lol, but 8 cores sounds fkin amazing lol

  4. #4
    Chief Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Replies
    936
    Country
    Netherlands
    Xfire
    trackbase
    Steam
    trackbase
    Clan
    tb.
    I would go for an Intel CPU at the current time, the 2500K/2600K or even 2700K are still better then AMD's bulldozer. For the video card I would go for some HD6990 or 70

  5. #5
    Spamming the boards! Ripjaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Replies
    189
    Country
    United Kingdom
    lol paul i only got £1200 the gpu alone is 500+ Besides I dont really need a good gpu was just gonna get a half decent cheapy one like the HIS ATI Radeon HD 6870 Only 150

    I've tryed to find somthing on google and youtube that compares them in a tottaly neutral view, all i found was fan boys from either side so im non the wiser.

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CP-397-IN Is this one as good as it? or better? and why? And what mobo is best to get with it?

    I like the look of this one but idk if its compatible, (and yes i go by how they look lol) http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...-056-AK&tool=3

    May aswell put the other componants if it helps with mobo options.

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...tid=14&subcat= Hard drive
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=8&subcat=1389 RAM
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-052-OC Power supply
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...-036-CS&tool=3 Case
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...-107-LG&tool=3 BD-Rom
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...tid=57&subcat= cpu cooler
    If i were to get the intel version Then most likly this gpu http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...14&subcat=1341

    I dunno if im missing anything? Its my first build lol
    Last edited by Ripjaw; 2-11-2011 at 14:13.

  6. #6
    Developer giriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Replies
    240
    Country
    Belgium
    Xfire
    giriel
    Clan
    -TB#
    The only thing I miss is a CPU cooler and perhaps an SSD.
    Also make sure that your mobo has the right socket. And enough room for everything.

    Now why do you need 12 GB's of ram?

  7. #7
    Spamming the boards! Ripjaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Replies
    189
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Quote Originally Posted by giriel View Post
    The only thing I miss is a CPU cooler and perhaps an SSD.
    Also make sure that your mobo has the right socket. And enough room for everything.

    Now why do you need 12 GB's of ram?
    Ah yes was looking at the Coolermaster v8 cooler (looks nice) Need 12gig too run the music softwere, it takes alot of cpu+ram power to run music programs and recording softwere at once to get it with low latency

  8. #8
    Here I am! Planet Pannett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Replies
    21
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Xfire
    pannett
    Clan
    .ToX!c&
    My motherboard sucks it only has two slots so i only have 8gb of ddr3 RAM

Posting Permissions