PDA

View Full Version : Low/High Graphics CFGs



Scarhand
22-02-2011, 01:26
Make sure you first back up your settings with "/writeconfig mycfg.cfg" in your console. Paste this into a cfg and exec it, for very low graphics. This can improve FPS, if you can stand the graphics. You can also try pieces of this cfg, if you don't like some of the other settings, just back up your settings first. They are written in Notepad, size 14 font, Times New Roman.




// _________________________
// _______________________
// [ Low Graphic Settings ]
// ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
// ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

// May increase performance, but has very poor graphic quality.
// Cfg based on my graphic cfg.
// Designed mostly for NoQuarter.
// Cfg created entirely by -=PDP=-Scarhand, do not steal.
// Written in notepad with size 14 font, Times New Roman.

exec "preset_fast_ui.cfg"
// You can use fastest if you want instead of fast.

//////////////////////////////
////// Rendering //////
////////////////////////////

// r_colorbits "16"
r_compressModels "1"
r_detailTextures "0"
r_dlightBacks "0"
r_drawSun "0"
r_dynamiclight "0"
r_dynamictextures "0"
r_ext_compressed_textures "1"
r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "0"
r_ext_multitexture "1"
r_facePlaneCull "1"
r_fastsky "1"
r_flares "0"
r_highQualityVideo "0"
r_ignoreFastPath "0"
r_inGameVideo "0"
r_lodCurveError "1"
// Above: Turn this higher up to remove the effects of messed up roads and train tracks. Default 200?
r_lodbias "2"
r_picmip "3"
r_rmse "25"
// above: Higher is worse quality. Too high and you can't see text or HUD, and it makes your crosshair blurry.
r_roundImagesDown "1"
r_simpleMipMaps "0"
// Above: turn this on if the extreme texture quality is bothering you.
r_subdivisions "999"
// r_texturebits "16"
r_textureMode "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST"
// above: GL_NEAREST is even worse quality. Havent tried it.

/////////////////////////////////
////// Client Game //////
////////////////////////////////

cg_atmosphericEffects "0"
cg_coronas "0"
cg_cursorhints "4"
cg_bloodDamageBlend "0"
cg_bloodFlash "0"
cg_bloodTime "0"
cg_brassTime "0"
cg_drawAuraIcons "0"
cg_drawCompass "0"
cg_drawMuzzleFlash "0"
cg_drawTracers "0"
cg_fastSolids "1"
cg_gibs "0"
cg_impactParticles "0"
cg_marks "0"
cg_marktime "0"
cg_muzzleFlash "0"
cg_optimizePrediction "1"
cg_shadows "0"
cg_showBlood "0"
cg_simpleItems "1"
cg_smokeParticles "0"
cg_tracers "0"
cg_trailParticles "0"
cg_wolfParticles "0"

//////////////////////////
////// Sounds //////
/////////////////////////

s_doppler "0"
s_khz "22"
s_mixahead "0.14"

// -

echo "^1~^!S^3carhand^9's ^1Low Graphic ^9settings loaded!"

Screenshots:

http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/2737/20100410194923goldrushg.jpg
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/9820/20100410195211goldrushg.jpg

Here is also a high graphics cfg, if you want ET to look good. Beware, it will eat up your FPS.



// _________________________
// _______________________
// [ High Graphic Settings ]
// ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
// ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

// May cause large drop in FPS if you don't have a very good computer.
// Cfg based on my graphic cfg.
// Some settings left out because you will probably want them off, muzzleflash, blood, and atmospheric effects for example.
// Designed mostly for NoQuarter.
// Cfg created entirely by -=PDP=-Scarhand, do not steal.
// Written in notepad with size 14 font, Times New Roman.

exec "preset_high_ui.cfg"
// The preset turns on brass

//////////////////////////////
////// Rendering //////
////////////////////////////

r_colorbits "32"
r_compressModels "1"
r_detailTextures "1"
// Above: note, cvar can cause some textures to become very bright.
r_dlightBacks "1"
r_drawSun "1"
r_dynamiclight "2"
r_dynamictextures "1"
r_ext_compressed_textures "1"
r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "1"
r_ext_multitexture "1"
r_facePlaneCull "1"
r_fastsky "0"
r_flares "1"
r_highQualityVideo "1"
r_ignoreFastPath "0"
r_inGameVideo "1"
r_lodCurveError "9999"
r_lodbias "0"
r_picmip "0"
r_rmse "0"
r_roundImagesDown "0"
r_simpleMipMaps "1"
r_subdivisions "4"
r_textureAnisotropy "4"
r_texturebits "32"
r_textureMode "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"

/////////////////////////////////
////// Client Game //////
////////////////////////////////

cg_fastSolids "1"
cg_impactParticles "1"
cg_marks "1"
cg_optimizePrediction "1"
cg_optimizedPrediction "1"
cg_shadows "1"
// Above: Higher shadow levels broken?
cg_simpleItems "0"
cg_smokeParticles "1"

//////////////////////////
////// Sounds //////
/////////////////////////

s_doppler "1"
s_khz "44"
s_mixahead "0.2"

// -

echo "^1~^!S^3carhand^9's ^1High Graphic ^9settings loaded!"


Screenshots (Sorry it looks bad, got my graphics card on lowest settings):

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/4339/20100410195141goldrushg.jpg
http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/7990/20100410194753goldrushg.jpg

brinkthegamer
30-03-2012, 01:46
Those are not the highest, these are:
seta r_colorbits 32
seta r_customaspect 1
seta r_customheight 1080
seta r_customwidth 1920
seta r_depthbits 32
seta r_detailtextures 1
seta r_dlightBacks 1
seta r_drawSun 1
seta r_dynamiclight 1
seta r_facePlaneCull 0
seta r_fastsky 0
seta r_finish 1
seta r_flares 1
seta r_fullscreen 1
seta r_highQualityVideo 1
seta r_ignoreFastPath 0
seta r_ignoreGLErrors 1
seta r_ignorehwgamma 0
seta r_inGameVideo 1
seta r_intensity 1.3
seta r_lodbias 0
seta r_lodCurveError 1000
seta r_mode -1
seta r_oldMode
seta r_picmip 0
seta r_picmip2 0
seta r_rmse 0.0
seta r_roundImagesDown 2
seta r_shadows 4
seta r_simplemipmaps 0
seta r_stencilbits 32
seta r_subdivisions 0
seta r_swapInterval 0
seta r_textureAnisotropy 1.0
seta r_texturebits 32
seta r_texturemode gl_linear_mipmap_linear
seta cg_crosshairsize 0
seta cg_draw2d 0
seta cg_coronafardist "2000"
seta cg_coronas "1"
seta cg_marktime "1"


and here are the lowest:
seta r_colorbits 0
seta r_customaspect 0
seta r_customheight 1080
seta r_customwidth 1920
seta r_depthbits 0
seta r_detailtextures 0
seta r_dlightBacks 1
seta r_drawSun 0
seta r_dynamiclight 1
seta r_facePlaneCull 1
seta r_fastsky 1
seta r_finish 0
seta r_flares 0
seta r_fullscreen 1
seta r_highQualityVideo 0
seta r_ignoreFastPath 0
seta r_ignoreGLErrors 1
seta r_ignorehwgamma 1
seta r_inGameVideo 0
seta r_intensity 1.1
seta r_lodbias 2
seta r_lodCurveError 125
seta r_mode 4
seta r_oldMode
seta r_picmip 3
seta r_picmip2 3
seta r_rmse 0.0
seta r_roundImagesDown 2
seta r_shadows 0
seta r_simpleMipMaps 1
seta r_stencilbits 0
seta r_subdivisions 999
seta r_swapInterval 0
seta r_textureAnisotropy 1.0
seta r_texturebits 0
seta r_textureMode GL_NORMAL_MIPMAP_NORMAL
seta cg_crosshairsize 40
seta cg_draw2d 1
seta cg_coronafardist "0"
seta cg_coronas "0"
seta cg_marktime "0"

Mccloud
30-03-2012, 16:57
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/118780262-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/118780257-4.jpg

seta r_inGameVideo "0"
seta r_colormiplevels "0"
seta r_compressmodels "1"
seta r_clear "0"
seta r_cacheshaders "0"
seta r_fullbright "2"
seta r_picmip "0"
seta r_picmip2 "0"
seta r_roundImagesDown "0"
seta r_rmse "0.0"
seta r_detailtextures "0"
seta r_mapoverBrightBits "2"
seta r_overBrightBits "1"
seta r_intensity "1.5"
seta r_ignorehwgamma "1"
seta r_oldMode ""
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_customwidth "1920"
seta r_customheight "1080"
seta r_customaspect "1"
seta r_simpleMipMaps "1"
seta r_subdivisions "999"
seta r_ignoreFastPath "0"
seta r_lodCurveError "250"
seta r_lodbias "5"
seta r_flares "0"
seta r_ignoreGLErrors "1"
seta r_fastsky "0"
seta r_drawSun "1"
seta r_dynamiclight "0"
seta r_dlightBacks "0"
seta r_finish "0"
seta r_textureMode "GL_LINEAR"
seta r_swapInterval "0"
seta r_gamma "3"
seta r_facePlaneCull "1"
seta r_railWidth "16"
seta r_railCoreWidth "1"
seta r_railSegmentLength "32"
seta r_primitives "0"
seta r_trisColor "1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0"
seta r_normallength "0.5"
seta r_vertexLight "1"
seta r_vertexlighting "0"
seta r_glDriver "opengl32"
seta r_allowExtensions "1"
seta r_ext_compressed_textures "1"
seta r_ext_gamma_control "1"
seta r_ext_multitexture "1"
seta r_ext_compiled_vertex_array "1"
seta r_glIgnoreWicked3D "0"
seta r_ext_ATI_pntriangles "0"
seta r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "0"
seta r_ext_NV_fog_dist "0"
seta r_nv_fogdist_mode "GL_EYE_RADIAL_NV"
seta r_ext_texture_env_add "1"
seta r_clampToEdge "1"
seta r_texturebits "32"
seta r_colorbits "32"
seta r_stereo "0"
seta r_stencilbits "0"
seta r_depthbits "32"
seta r_mode "6"
seta r_smp "0"
seta r_highQualityVideo "1"
seta r_lastValidRenderer ""
seta r_drawfoliage "0"
seta r_drawstrips "0"
seta r_displayrefresh "75"
seta r_textureAnisotropy "0"
seta r_znear "3"

Shownie
31-03-2012, 00:47
// Cfg created entirely by -=PDP=-Scarhand, do not steal.

You just want to show your cfg? Which we according to you we can't use. Change the line, it makes no sense, besides you can't even make settings from a game to be copyright on you.
Felt just a bit funny to me. :)

Hog
31-03-2012, 04:10
I'm going to try those low settings. I've used Scarhand's settings in the past, and right now I have my settings pretty dull. The past few days I've been trying to research each renderer setting. Some info posted on various sites seems to contradict one another, or it could be my interpretation. A few years ago, I had someone's config that was VERY dull, and dark. I've been trying to duplicate it but some changes don't really affect the graphics that I can see. Like now, if I adjust my gamma it makes no difference. I used to play with everything bright, but lately I've been trying to darken it with mapoverbrightbits and overbrightbits. My pc can handle the high settings, I have 3 gb ram, GeForce 8800GT card, quad core processor. I figured I can dull down the settings to make the players more visible, if I play on high graphics then it's hard for me to see. I've spectated some of the top players when I'm on F|A and sometimes they can really spot enemies and zero in. I'm hoping to do the same eventually. Don't know if you guys have seen some of BossHK's screenshots, but it's kinda what I mean. I've used his settings also, but the ground seems to have blocky patterns. Man I could go on and on with this, I have a lot of questions, but I don't want to jumble it all up in one post.

For example, I have the folders: etmain, jaymod, noquarter, omnibot, etpub. I usually put a copy of my config in each folder and /exec when I load the mod. But in each folder is the profile folder, in the profile folder is etconfig. Do I need to put in there? I'm asking because it seems like some settings don't change when I /exec.

NoQuarter is my mod of choice, but I do visit Jaymod servers including F|A. My ping is around 80, but it lags. My NQ config is also my Jaymod config. Is there a conflict between the two? Should I be tweaking the configs for different mods? Example: My clan server I ping at 48. I change my cl_maxpackets from 100 to 30, my ping cuts in half, everytime. I tried on F|A, but it makes no difference.

Scarhand
31-03-2012, 16:58
Not to belittle or bring anyone down, but:
Brinkthegamer, some of those settings aren't as high as mine (e.g. lodcurveerror) and the only thing you added was a custom resolution that will not work for everyone. Same with your low graphics one, which you also added settings like brightness to which people like to customize.
Ryan, some of yours don't even exist, some are redundant because they are the default setting, some aren't the best setting, some don't even reflect graphics used (triscolor).

Shownie, I meant that as you can't claim as your own. You can use.

Hog, connection settings do not matter for mods. There are a lot of cvars that do matter. I play mostly NQ as well, but I always try to make sure to include cvars specific to other mods. Just put an autoexec in etmain and all the mod folders and it should always load it. You can also put +exec cfgname.cfg on the target line of your shortcut.

As for the brightness cvars, here is something I did a long long time ago:
Nevermind, it was a comparison of the effects of all the brightness cvars, but it wont allow me to post more than 10 images, so never mind. Keep in mind that some maps are affected differently, as I used goldrush and fueldump for comparison. Things like intensity have a much more pronounced effect on snow textures. At all brightness cvars maxes, fueldump can be unbearably bright, while goldrush is nicely lit.

Hog
1-04-2012, 02:26
Hey Scarhand, I used Hog as a name here, but you know me as -=KF=-Scooter. You've helped me in the past, but I'm still always searching for more info. I'm not sure what I've done to my settings, but there is no change when I adjust the gamma and intensity settings. I will look over my config tonight at work and compare it to the default settings to see what's up.

Lately I just don't feel like I'm improving. I don't get to play as much due to work and family, but after all this time I figured I would have gotten better. Still those same few guys on the NQ server that I can't consistently beat, just lucky sometimes.

I'm on my company's computer so I can't see the pics. I'll have to check them out when I get home tomorrow. Good to hear from you, hardly ever see you anymore at KF.

Mccloud
1-04-2012, 03:48
Ryan, some of yours don't even exist, some are redundant because they are the default setting, some aren't the best setting, some don't even reflect graphics used (triscolor)..

What do you mean "some of yours don't even exist"? if they didn't existed they wouldn't effect my graphics which they do. i posted screenshots above it, if you mean r_settings that ONLY effect the graphics then yea, i just copypaste all of my r_settings not just the graphics

Scarhand
2-04-2012, 04:28
What do you mean "some of yours don't even exist"? if they didn't existed they wouldn't effect my graphics which they do. i posted screenshots above it, if you mean r_settings that ONLY effect the graphics then yea, i just copypaste all of my r_settings not just the graphics

I mean like r_fullbright and r_vertexlighting (r_vertexlight does exist), they don't even exist in ET. And r_znear is cheatprotected. Stuff like that.

testforecho
2-04-2012, 12:56
In some mods you can have different settings only for a specific map, etpro has per-map autoexecs for sure
I use this feature only for spawnpoints and spawntimers, so I don't know if graphic settings that require a vid_restart will change, probably yes (but I didn't test it). This way you can change brightness only for 1 map.

As regards nonexisting cvars, obviously if you set some fake cvar in your autoexec, it will go to your config, and it will also be autocompleted with tab like real cvars.
And also if you switch mod without quitting first, all the extra variables from that mod could go to another mod's profile, for example I often find etpro b_ cvars in jaymod, etc. but of course they have no effect there.

And a /cvar_restart will obviously delete them, since they are not real cvars for that mod.

I think the best thing would be to have generic ET cvars in one main autoexec, and mod specific cvars in other mods folder, personally I have almost all the cvars in my config, so even if I do a cvar_restart or I delete my profiles folder next time I start et everything will be again with my own settings.

If you don't know if a cvar exists or not, you can try to find that text inside et.exe and inside mods dll, if you canì't find it then chances are that cvar doesn't exist. Same if you do a cvar_restart and the cvar is not there anymore (doesn't autocomplete, etc.)

PGR|Craft|XO
3-09-2012, 08:37
don't look how the picture :(
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/9820/20100410195211goldrushg.jpg